Filmkunstfest MV
Logo Filmland


FILMKUNSTFEST Mecklenburg-Vorpommern in the regional capital city of Schwerin

Find out about the festival in our brand new information brochure - Download here.

The FILMKUNSTFEST MV was founded in spring 1990 by filmmakers in the region of Mecklenburg–West Pomerania as the first new film festival in Eastern Germany after the reunification, combining film and fine arts (photography exhibits, literature/readings, music/concerts).

Each year, it takes place in the first week of May, starting on Tuesday and finishing on Sunday, in the capital city of Schwerin. The main location of the festival is the Filmpalast Capitol with six screens. Built in 1938 and celebrating its 80th anniversary in 2016, the big hall is one of the most beautiful film theatre venues in Germany.

©Filmpalast Capitol Schwerin
©Filmpalast Capitol Schwerin

The FILMKUNSTFEST MV hosts four competitive sections for film productions from German speaking countries, Austria, Switzerland, and of course Germany, or co-productions with these countries. These films are supposed to be either full-length feature films (10 contributions), full-length documentaries (10 contributions), full-length children’s- or youth films (6-8 contributions), or short films (20 contributions). By awarding prize money of around € 50,000 by several juries, the FILMKUNSTFEST MV is an important competitive festival for films in German language in Germany, particularly for young directors.

An important part of the festival is the award given to a renowned actor or actress for life-time achievement by the Minister-President of the federal state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, accompanied by a film tribute. In addition, the festival presents treasures of DEFA history as well as fresh films produced in the region (“Made in MV”) or in co-operation with the Norddeutsche Rundfunk NDR (regional public broadcaster).

Moreover, every year the festival presents a “guest country” with films and film concerts (in 2014 Turkey, 2015 France, and 2016 Belgium). In 2015, the Focus Baltic Sea was introduced by artistic director Volker Kufahl. This programme focuses on long and short feature and documentary films from the Baltic Sea region (Scandinavia, the Baltic countries, Russia and Poland), to illuminate the cinematographic diversity in a common cultural region.

The FILMKUNSTFEST MV hosts around 18,000 visitors, journalists and industry guests each year.