Guest of Honour Ulrich Tukur
Ehrenpreis Goldener Ochse
Honoraray Award 'Golden Ox'
Film Nation in Focus 2021: Finland
Festivalkino Filmpalast Capitol Schwerin
Film Fest Main Location 'Filmpalast capitol'
Logo Filmland


FILMKUNSTFEST MV enjoys the support of prominent political figures, private companies, banks, cultural institutions, initiatives and media partners in the state of Mecklenburg-West Pomerania. These include the government of Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, the state marketing corporation, the capital city of Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, i.e. the mayor of Schwerin, the regional Sparkasse savings bank, the state lottery, various regional and local companies from various economic sectors (e.g. automobile, beverage, technical services, hospitality, pub and restaurant) as well as NDR, the biggest regional radio and television broadcaster, which has been the festival's media partner for many years along with the local newspaper and even presents its own new productions in a special film series. NDR, the City of Schwerin, the state government and further sponsors endow the twelve awards with prize money totalling 40,000 euros which is awarded in the four competitions.

Many embassies and several of the country's political foundations support the presentation of special films. Eminent guests are invited to the festival to join in discussions on these occasions.

The film series for the annually changing guest country is regularly supported by that country's embassy in Berlin and its current ambassador is invited to attend the opening ceremony in Schwerin along with the minister-president of Mecklenburg-West Pomerania. Furthermore, private companies and film and cultural institutions from guest countries have supported FILMKUNSTFEST MV in years past. These include: State of the Art - the cultural institute of Flanders, Belgium, in 2016; the operators of the Fehmarnbelt tunnel (Femern Belt Development and Femern Sund & Bælt) of Denmark in 2017; the Georgian National Film Center of Georgia in 2018; the Arts Council of Ireland of Ireland in 2019).