Logo Filmland

29th FILMKUNSTFEST MV: Award Ceremony

All Winners of the 29th FILMKUNSTFEST MV ©Jacob Waak
from left to right: Festival director Volker Kufahl, guest of honour, actress Katharina Thalbach and Prime-Minister Manuela Schwesig © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
The deputy editor-in-chief of Schwerin's local newspaper SVZ, Max-Stefan Koslik hands over the Audience Award to distributor Christoph Ott for the movie NUR EINE FRAU by Sherry Hormann © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
Dr. Josef Wolf, CEO of the public utility service, Schwerin, and the members of the grand jury, Hansjörg Weißbrich, Jutta Hoffmann and Anna Thalbach pronounce that Valerie Pachner wins the award for a young actress © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
Award ceremony party in the Mecklenburg State Theatre © Heyne
Peter Hartwig, producer of the movie SYSTEM CRASHER, accepts the prize on behalf of the sound team of the movie. The award was founded and handed over by Jörg Höhne from Studio Mitte, Berlin © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
Host Knut Elstermann and the managing director of north Germany's biggest broadcast NDR, Lutz Marmor with Marie Kreutzer (Best Director, DER BODEN UNTER DEN FÜSSEN) © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
Lord Mayor of Schwerin Dr. Rico Badenschier with the young LEO-jury © Heyne
Director Marie Kreutzer accepts the Best Up-and-coming Actor Award on behalf of Valerie Pachner in her movie DER BODEN UNTER DEN FÜSSEN © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
Arman T. Riahi and Marita Stocker from the documentary film jury with the CEO of the Sparkasse Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Kai Lorenzen, and host Knut Elstermann © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
Director Christin Freitag receives the prize for the best documentary: LET THE BELL RING © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
"Golden Ox" Honoree Katharina Thalbach © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
Acceptance speech of actress and guest of honour Katharina Thalbach © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
The FIPRESCI-Jury: Teresa Vena, Susanne Gottlieb and Radovan Holub © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
Advancement Award of the DEFA foundation is handed over by Philip Zengel (left) to Peter Hartwig, producer of the movie SYSTEM CRASHER © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
Prime-Minister Manuela Schwesig hands over the grand jury prize "Flying Ox" to Peter Hartwig, producer of the movie SYSTEM CRASHER © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
Director of photography Daniel Samer receives the prize for the best cinematography in a documentary feature: CONGO CALLING by Stephan Hilpert © Jacob Waak, FILMLAND MV
Hannah Dörr, director of the short movie MIDAS receives the price for the best short film in competition © Heyne

'System Crasher' has been given wings

While SYSTEM CRASHER wins the ‚Flying Ox‘, the main award of the feature-film competition, actor Katharina Thalbach takes home the Lifetime Achievement (Golden Ox, the honorary award of the Schwerin film festival).

Thanks to a festival programme that was characterised not only by many female filmmakers but also by a powerful range of films, the 29th FILMKUNSTFEST MV was eventually visited by 19,200 spectators having watched 120 films. Hence, this year's attendance clearly exceeded the previous record of approximately 18,000 visitors in 2017.

”The 29th year in the history of the FILMKUNSTFEST MV has surpassed all our expectations,” the festival’s Artistic Director Volker Kufahl said. “We are truly pleased that both the audience and the juries appreciated the programme we had thoughtfully put together and which comprised many films revolving around topics relevant to society. I am particularly glad that our Focus Ireland section attracted such an overwhelming interest”.

After a suspense-packed start with the German premiere of the psychological thriller film GRETA directed by Irish grandseigneur Neil Jordan (THE CRYING GAME, 1993), the number of cinemagoers remained on a constantly high level.

1,000 spectators alone attended the two film concerts along the screening of Charlie Chaplin’s silent-film classic THE GOLD RUSH from 1925. The Mecklenburg State Orchestra, conducted by Martin Schelhaas, performed Chaplin’s score to the film.